Meet The Team: Keri Berry

March 30, 2022

Meet The Team: Keri Berry

Keri is a physique competitor, mental health therapist, and the newest addition to the Axe & Sledge Team! Keri is located in Cambridge, Massachusetts, but she’s originally from Hoosick Falls, New York.

Since Keri’s father was a personal trainer, she was no stranger to the gym scene. Keri started resistance training when she was about 10 years old, but her primary focus at the time was performance, not aesthetics.

Keri played several sports throughout high school, including soccer, basketball and lacrosse. Keri went on to play lacrosse in college for Skidmore College. After graduating from college, Keri started going to the gym to stay active. Since she was an athlete practically her entire life, she missed competing in a sport, so she decided to enter a physique competition.

After she found a local show to compete in, Keri got a coach and immediately started prep! She started out competing in the Wellness Division. However, for her second show, she did both Wellness & Figure.

Finally, for her third show, she made the full transition to Figure. Although Keri has only three shows under her belt, she's ready to make the necessary improvements to achieve her Pro Card in Women’s Figure next year!

Keep reading to learn more about Keri with this exclusive Q & A!

Keri’s Stats

  • Age: 27
  • Height: 5’4”
  • In-season Weight: ~120lbs
  • Off-season Weight: ~135-140lbs
  • Division: Women’s Figure

Question & Answer

Where are you from?

  • I was born and raised in Hoosick Falls, New York.
  • I currently live in Cambridge, Massachusetts .

What got you interested in bodybuilding?

  • My dad was a personal trainer, so I started going to the gym when I was about 10 years old. I played several sports throughout high school, including soccer, basketball, and lacrosse. I went on to play lacrosse in college, but after that ended, I started to miss being a competitive athlete.

  • After college, I started going to the gym to improve my physical and mental health. During that time a lot of people kept telling me that I should consider competing in a physique show. At first, I wasn’t really interested, but I finally decided to compete and started my first prep in June, 2021. I ended up doing my first show in October, 2021 and now I am hooked!

What’s the most difficult part of preparing for a physique competition?

  • In my opinion, the most difficult part of preparing for a physique competition is the diet. During my last prep, I had a lot of cravings and it took a fair amount of discipline to stick to my meal plan.

What does your diet consist of? (in-season vs off-season)

  • I typically eat 6 meals per day during prep and the off-season.
  • The types of food I eat don’t really change between the off-season and competition prep, however the quantities change drastically.
  • For example, I only eat about 2 ounces of protein per meal during prep, which is extremely low, I also do carb cycling, and rarely have any cheat/free meals. However, in the off-season, it gets difficult for me to consume all of the food I need to gain muscle, and I have at least 2 cheat/free meals per week.
  • Overall, I stick to the typical bodybuilding foods, such as chicken, rice, eggs, cream of rice, oatmeal, fruit, vegetables, etc.

What’s your current training split?

  • Here’s what my current training split looks like on a weekly basis:
    • Monday: Back & Chest
    • Tuesday: Hamstrings/Glutes
    • Wednesday: Shoulders/Arms
    • Thursday: Off
    • Friday: Back
    • Saturday: Legs
    • Sunday: Off
  • Cardio
    • Off-Season: 3 days/week - 45 minutes (treadmill or stepmill)
    • In-Season: 4 days/week - 45 minutes (treadmill or stepmill)

What’s your favorite body part to train?

  • Overall, my favorite body part to train is back.

What's your favorite exercise for each body part? 

  • Chest: Bench Press
  • Back: Rack Pulls
  • Quads: Sissy Squats
  • Hamstrings: Romanian Deadlifts
  • Calves: Jump Rope (I don’t really train calves)
  • Biceps: Standing Dumbbell Curls
  • Triceps: EZ-Bar Skullcrushers
  • Abs: Hanging Leg Raises

What are your top three Axe & Sledge supplements?

What’s one of your favorite quotes?

  • “Grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change; Courage to change the things I can; and the Wisdom to know the difference.”

What's your top two goals at the moment (fitness & business)?

  • In terms of fitness, I want to earn a Pro Card in Women’s Figure
  • In terms of business, I would love to open my own gym in the future that’s a combination of mental health therapy and personal training

What's' your go-to cheat meal?

  • My go-to cheat meal is a double cheeseburger and fries, however I also have a big sweet tooth, so it really depends on what I am craving at the time!

Do you have any hobbies outside of bodybuilding?

  • Outside of the gym, I really enjoy reading, hanging out with friends, family and my dog, rock-climbing, hiking, and doing other self-care activities.

If you could make any flavor of the Home Made Bar what would it be?

  • A S’mores flavored Home Made Bar would be epic!

Why did you choose Axe & Sledge supplements?

  • What ultimately made me choose Axe & Sledge Supplements over other companies was the team, community, and supplements. The brand really fits my personality, I was blown away by how supportive everyone is, and truly impressed by how well the products work. The supplements actually do what they say on the label, unlike several others I’ve tried over the years.

  • Not to mention, I’ve always been a big fan of Seth. I appreciate how open, honest, and authentic he is, especially when it comes to how he markets the products. Overall, I could tell that Axe & Sledge was going to be the perfect fit for me because I can truly be myself and stand behind the supplements.
  • From the few conversations I had with the team before officially signing, it was obvious that the owners behind the brand really care about their athletes and we are not just another number on their roster.

Where can people find you?


Sign up for our Newsletter